Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Free second level domains (Freenom)

#1
Hi guys,
If you need a free domain you can check out freenom.com: you can register a domain for free up to 12 months.
Hope you'll find this helpful.

See ya,
Alessandro,
#2
Its a good service to provide domain for free. But any free hosting can't access to this domains Sad
#3
Great idea @RedMan - I've been using Freenom from dot.tk days and it works well for temporary domains. Like be careful to get too attached to the domain, as the more work you put in it, and the more traffic it gets, the better the chance that Freenom will take it back and then offer it to you at a price. I only use my Freenom domains for very small personal Websites that I know will never attract attention, or I use it to experiment with a Website that I want to move to a TLD eventually.

[-] The following 1 user Likes Genesis's post:
  • thdreamer
#4
Just tried them, this is very handy to have the ability to have a "test" domain to check routing and such.  I have been looking for years for something like that.  Thanks
#5
When You get a domain and your site grow with some users and gain alexa rate they take that domain from you whitout your permission and sell it with price in their website!
#6
A free domain is a great and helpful tool to get you started but once you do become popular and start attracting traffic you should be looking for a TLD to prevent such issues happening and to firmly establish your site's brand.  DOT.TK's Free Domain agreement states repeatedly they can change the agreement at any time after you agree to it. Not the same for the Paid TLDs. Plus GoDaddy is constantly having .99 sales, get the TLD. 


http://www.freenom.com/en/doc_tcfree_freenom_v0110.pdf
#7
(12-15-2018, 10:53 AM)khoshbin Wrote: When You get a domain and your site grow with some users and gain alexa rate they take that domain from you whitout your permission and sell it with price in their website!

@khoshbin - you have spoken my mind, had the same experience with them. Just use it for experimentation only.
#8
Thanks handy to know this is available
#9
(06-15-2019, 04:43 AM)buzzawak Wrote: Thanks handy to know this is available

Its available. But you need to keep it only for experimentation purposes or for low traffic sites. My experience with them is pretty bad. Once the traffic gets high they might take it back or even sell it.
#10
(07-07-2019, 04:20 PM)binil Wrote: Its available. But you need to keep it only for experimentation purposes or for low traffic sites. My experience with them is pretty bad. Once the traffic gets high they might take it back or even sell it.
I can confirm this strange behavior. Be careful with it and use it only for testing.
Otherwise your domain is gone and you have no more control about it.
#11
But what I know, it's really hard to get on etc Google using free domains from Freenom?
#12
(07-10-2019, 01:38 PM)luqz Wrote: But what I know, it's really hard to get on etc Google using free domains from Freenom?
I don't know for sure, but since Freenom doesn't have a good reputation with their FREE domains, maybe the free domains aren't universally supported in the same way as a TLD domain. What I mean to say is it's not only a Google "thing" but people in general don't take dot.tk or other similar Freenom domains seriously. So it's not ideal if you want to make a good impression with your Website, to use a Freenom free domain. Better to go for the expense of a more respected TLD.

[-] The following 1 user Likes Genesis's post:
  • luqz
#13
(07-11-2019, 04:51 AM)Genesis Wrote:
(07-10-2019, 01:38 PM)luqz Wrote: But what I know, it's really hard to get on etc Google using free domains from Freenom?
I don't know for sure, but since Freenom doesn't have a good reputation with their FREE domains, maybe the free domains aren't universally supported in the same way as a TLD domain. What I mean to say is it's not only a Google "thing" but people in general don't take dot.tk or other similar Freenom domains seriously. So it's not ideal if you want to make a good impression with your Website, to use a Freenom free domain. Better to go for the expense of a more respected TLD. 

Yea that's true.
And also I have seen alot of fishing and scam websites that are using Freenom's free domains :/
#14
(07-09-2019, 06:53 PM)Vector Wrote:
(07-07-2019, 04:20 PM)binil Wrote: Its available. But you need to keep it only for experimentation purposes or for low traffic sites. My experience with them is pretty bad. Once the traffic gets high they might take it back or even sell it.
I can confirm this strange behavior. Be careful with it and use it only for testing.
Otherwise your domain is gone and you have no more control about it. 

Good to know that. I'm starting with Wordpress blog and I've registered *.gq domain on Freenom. There is currently no traffic on my site, but now I am concerned about the future. 

If the site grows, then I will think about a paid domain.
#15
I just register one .com domain in IONOS which offer $1 first year, also include privacy protection, one email and SSL certificate. The most domain provider charge extra money for privacy protection. it is good to take a try.
#16
Be careful with freenom. If your free domain gets any traffic it gets confiscated. Even worse it gets redirected to a x-rated site with ads and you can't even change or cancel that domain. No communication why or any answer from the support. 

Does anyone know a more reliable free domain service?
#17
Why not buy a cheap domain instead of looking for free domains? I've just noticed that .cq is not working. @Kreesher try and get another domain instead of a freenom domain as it's having DNS issues.

#18
(10-13-2019, 04:46 PM)Genesis Wrote: Why not buy a cheap domain instead of looking for free domains? I've just noticed that .cq is not working. @Kreesher try and get another domain instead of a freenom domain as it's having DNS issues.

@Genesis I was using to test things and never had a problem. This just happened recently and that is why I am posting about it.

The .cf should be working since it redirects to the ip you said. But I will try to get a better one and contact you when getting it to fix the issue.
#19
(10-13-2019, 06:09 PM)Kreesher Wrote:
(10-13-2019, 04:46 PM)Genesis Wrote: Why not buy a cheap domain instead of looking for free domains? I've just noticed that .cq is not working. @Kreesher try and get another domain instead of a freenom domain as it's having DNS issues.

@Genesis I was using to test things and never had a problem. This just happened recently and that is why I am posting about it.

The .cf should be working since it redirects to the ip you said. But I will try to get a better one and contact you when getting it to fix the issue.
Yesterday when I was trying to test a .cq site with Freenom, it wouldn't allow me to add domains. Possibly, hopefully it will be different in future. But not sure what's going on with Freenom. I get the feeling not all DNS providers are happy with domains from Freenom.

#20
Everything was good until they redirect my site as well. I search for more people that had similar problems and there are a lot that comment when there website reach a certain number of visits freenom do that.

So after this, it’s like 000webhost. I will not recommend to anyone. They have a lot of shady stuff lately happening.

Like I told you I try to used another domain there and now they don’t even get the nameservers
#21
(10-14-2019, 08:04 PM)Kreesher Wrote: Like I told you I try to used another domain there and now they don’t even get the nameservers
I had a great experience with Freenom too in the past and have been using Freenom for many years - I started with dot.tk before Freenom was created. Then a few years back they went through a stage, just before they became Freenom (from dot.tk), when they very ruthlessly took domains back for sometimes no reason at all, not even traffic. I then lost two domains that way. But continued to use them. That stage of ruthlessness then became quiet for a few years, and looks as though they're back with those strange filters again. Maybe a bright spark programmer in the Netherlands decided to create filters for certain reasons that we're not familiar with yet. We'll probably soon hear about it in discussion forums like we had heard about the complaints during the previous ruthless times. There were dot.tk/Freenom users who had really ranted about what Freenom had done to them.

So when I noticed a problem with the Freenom domains with you and also another user here, I thought to go into my account and create domains with dot.gq, and it won't create domains for me. I wonder whether there is a limitation now on the number of domains one is allowed to have - although they say nothing about it in their rules. Like possibly they just decided to create a filter to limit the number of domains one can create. It comes up with a weird message after I've gone through the process of adding the new domain, that there was an issue with adding the domain and it couldn't be added.

I've got four domains with Freenom (3 dot.tk and 1 dot.ga).

This is the message that comes up after I've gone through all of the effort to create a domain:

Quote:Attention!
Some of your domains could not be registered because of a technical error. These domains have been cancelled:

It then lists the domain that I'd gone through trouble to create.

Other possibility is that the domains DNS are in the process of being hacked. Like yours may have been. And they've temporarily halted new domains for certain regions. I'm currently in South Africa. My address is the United Arab Emirates where I'd been for a number of years. They didn't like the change - perhaps. I guess there are plenty of reasons, but bottom line is that I can't create new Freenom domains with my current account with them.

#22
They take back their domain which has traffic and ask you for money to re-gain it!
this free service is good but they are not always free.
You can Use it just for testing your website or learning!
#23
Thanks for testing on your side @Genesis, at least I can have another person's vision on it. I don't know if it was a problem, hack or their side but would be great if they could say why the change happens.
  




Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Free second level domains (Freenom)396