Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

What is your preferred language and why

Alright so for web development you can make sites all sorts of ways, I personally have HTML, CSS, JS, PHP, sql.

Why I choose those?

I started out learning HTML when I was 11 years old, I tried to make a page filled with headings h1-h6 and tried to play with it, after I got the hang of HTML I decided to go with CSS and make things look nicer, sure I never liked CSS as much as I did the rest but hey!

Javascript was the best out of those two though, it allowed me to make a lot of cool little games.

Now when we talk about PHP once I learned it I used mysql but then a friend of mine convinced me to use PDO and now I've been using it ever since.

Moral of the story is I started as a kid and It just stuck with me!
I know PHP, HTML and SQL a little, I love to play with PHP, it make me happy if I success creating PHP script that I want. Unlike you, I began with HTML after I graduated from High school. And then I learned PHP and MySql after I work. It is not my expertise, but I love to play with it.
I prefer Dutch, as it is my native language Wacko

PHP tho
(01-27-2016, 12:27 AM)rbxomar Wrote: Alright so for web development you can make sites all sorts of ways, I personally have HTML, CSS, JS, PHP, sql.

Why I choose those?

I would say that you choose them because you can't claim that you're a Web developer (or aiming at becoming one [1]) without knowing/mastering them ALL plus a bunch of other stuff (e.g. SVG for client-side vector graphics, as opposed to Canvas-which is the available bitmap one inside today's browsers.)

Plus If you're a master in JavaScript you can do without PHP by using Node.js server-side as both your server and scripting engine (thanks to Google's V8 JS VM) at the same time.

Now to answer your question, I would say that mine is without a doubt JavaScript. PHP is fine but not as elegant as JS.

###################