Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

How did you Learn to Program and Code?

I am starting off using W3Schools and im not a expert but i am just wondering how did you learn to be as great as you are today?

Like making Programs, Themes, Webpages, etc.

I just need help as i can get and just want to know how you started off... also How long it took if you don't mind to do basic work.
"I like people that enjoy life, 'cause I do the same."
[-] The following 1 user Likes brocartel's post:
  • mrgabriel
The biggest thing I can tell you is to take open source software and look at the source code. This is the best way to learn! To see what other people are doing.

The other thing that really helped me was, instead of always installing WordPress or other software, try to make your own. Blogs are not very difficult to program, once you understand how SQL queries work the rest pretty much falls into place. Plus, once you get creative ideas for websites you realize it is often more work to adapt something like WordPress or similar to a very unique idea- often it is easier just to write from scratch/libraries if you can.

Be sure to read up on input validation, and even more importantly input SANITATION! And security! Security is most important above all. If you do not write a secure script, and put it live on the internet, you could lose all your hard work (if you do not make backups). Or you can use a framework like codeigniter, laravel, cakephp to help you deal with these things.
[-] The following 2 users Like drinks2go's post:
  • Genesis, ThomasMonroe
My father is a programmer and learned me to program. Then I took some courses and now I am also a programmer!
[-] The following 1 user Likes SimonRi's post:
  • brocartel
I started programming at the age of 13. My friend and I wanted to programm our own GTA SA multiplayer server. Therfore we started learning C# (A GTA SA Multiplayer server is programmed in Pawno it's a language like a mix of C# and C++).