Gaming Server and general interest web page

johnnydays

Hi everybody.

This is my first post and I hope it fits the "quality post" standard.

My intended use for this server is to host a webpage of general interest and a MC-PE gaming server for me and my children.

It would be nice to hear from you if this use is OK for gigarank.

It is my first time setting up such a service but I am willing to learn what is needed.

Best Regards,

JohnnyDays

Genesis

Administrator
Staff member
@johnydays
You won't be able to set up a server on shared hosting, but a webpage of general interest would work.

As someone previously mentioned you could use a VPS for a games server, but it would have to be higher specifications than the one offered for a free VPS at Gigarank. May be better to look for a VPS elsewhere.

I am going to make a suggestion seeing at least 2 have talked about game servers. Have you ever thought about running it from your own computer? There is software called Xampp to make your home comp into a webserver.You can run it from Windows. I use it all the time for testing. If you have a sparecomp laying around, you could do afresh install of windows, set up a good fire wall and have your computers connect to it either by cable or by internet. You can even get a no-ip address and name to route traffic that way.

Genesis

Administrator
Staff member
strokerace said:
I am going to make a suggestion seeing at least 2 have talked about game servers. Have you ever thought about running it from your own computer? There is software called Xampp to make your home comp into a webserver.You can run it from Windows. I use it all the time for testing. If you have a sparecomp laying around, you could do afresh install of windows, set up a good fire wall and have your computers connect to it either by cable or by internet. You can even get a no-ip address and name to route traffic that way.
Excellent suggestion strokerace! :good: